Skip to Main Content

Group Members

Postdoctoral Associates




Dr. Robert Lazenby – Joined 2016

Ph.D. in Chemistry, University of Warwick, 2014

M.Chem. Honors Chemistry, University of Warwick, 2010

My research: I will use the recently introduced bio-inspired, protein channel-based scanning ion conductance microscope (SICM), which allows for simultaneous surface imaging and specific molecule concentration mapping, applying the method to various biological systems. To further develop the technique, different protein channels can be incorporated into the lipid bilayer, which will respond to specific molecules of interest, with single molecule sensitivity. This will involve expression of a gene to produce a protein that will act as a nanopore sensor in the bio-SICM set up. Ultimately, such a method can be applied to study the cellular environment to understand communication at the single cell level. Electrochemical aptamer-based (EAB) sensors, on the microscale and nanoscale, can also serve as probes for specific biological targets. Nanostructured microelectrode E-AB biosensors will also be used to investigate specific molecules secreted by cells.

Graduate Students


Mirelis Santos-Cancel – Joined 2015

M.S. in Chemistry, University of Puerto Rico

B.S. in Chemistry, University of Puerto Rico

My research: Integrating Electrochemical Aptamer-Based Sensors with 3-D Tissue Scaffolding to Study Glial Communication

Undergraduate Students



Nick Vaccaro – Joined 2014

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology ’17

My research: I study single soft particle collisions in real-time on gold nanodisk E-AB sensors by observing discrete reductions in current at the gold surface.


Inayah Entzminger – Joined 2016

B.S. Biochemistry Major, Philosophy Minor
Honors Scholar
McNair Scholar

My research: Coming Soon…

Former Group Members/Alumni


IMG_3557 Justine Lottermoser – Joined 2014

B.S. Biochemistry and Molecular Biology ’16

Two-Time URA Scholar

Current Location: Post-Bach Internship Program at NIH


Lauren Dr. Lauren Schoukroun-Barnes – Joined 2012

Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry, University of Maryland Baltimore County, ’15

B.S. in Chemistry, Mount Saint Mary’s University, 2011

Current Location: Associate Consultant, Latham BioPharm Group


Flaire Dr. Florika Macazo – Joined 2012

Ph.D. in Chemistry, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 2016

B.S. in Chemistry, University of the Philippines Diliman

Current Location: Post-doctoral associate in Dr. Minteer’s Lab, University of Utah

EG Ethan Glaser – Joined 2014

Biology, University of Maryland Baltimore County, ’15

Current Location: Pending…


Untitled  Brenda Gutierrez – Joined 2013

B.S. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Minor in Psychology, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, ’16

Meyerhoff and NIDA Scholar

Current Location: M.D/Ph.D. Program at UC Irvine


Juan Dr. Juan Liu

Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry, Georgia State University, 2013

B.S. in Chemical Physics, University of Science and Technology of China, 2007

Current Location: Senior Research Staff in the Locasale Lab, Duke University


Sam Sam Wagan – Joined 2011

Biology, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, ’13

URA Scholar

Current Location: Medical School at the University of St. Louis 


James James Taylor – Joined 2012

Chemistry ’14

Meyerhoff and MARC Scholar

Current Location: Graduate School in the Department of Chemistry at University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill


Melissa Melissa Dávila Morris, M.S. 2014

Meyerhoff Scolar, BD-LSAMP Fellow

B.S. in General Studies in Agriculture with concentration in Entomology, Cornell University, 2003

B.S. in Chemistry, Inter American University of Puerto Rico San Juan, 2011

M.B.A. in Technology Management, University of Phoenix, Guaynabo, PR, 2007

Current Location: Eurofins Lancaster Laboratories


KuanChun Kuan-Chun Huang, M.S. 2013

B.S. in Chemistry, Chung Shan Medical University, 2009

Current Location: Sunny San Diego, CA


Zoe Spafford Zoe Spafford – Joined 2012